Press Releases


West Saline County Dollar General Store Robbed

A west Saline County Dollar General store was robbed at gunpoint Wednesday night, 10/10/18.  Deputies responded to the store, located at 25255 AR HWY 5, near Hot Springs Village, at around 9:30 PM for a report that a person had come into the store after it had closed and robbed the employees while displaying a handgun.

Criminal Investigation Detectives responded to the scene to collect physical evidence and interview witnesses.  Detectives have learned that the suspect is a white male that was wearing blue jeans, a dark hooded sweatshirt and a camouflage face mask.  It was reported by employees that the suspect left the area in a gray van.

This is an ongoing criminal investigation and further information will be released as it becomes available.  Saline County Sheriff Rodney Wright asks that any individuals having information about this robbery to please contact the Sheriff’s Office at 501-303-5647.

Image 1

East End Intermediate School Receives Red Ribbon Grant

Saline County Sheriff Rodney Wright presented a grant award of $530 to representatives of the East End Intermediate School on behalf of the Arkansas Sheriffs Association.

Accepting the award for the school were Principal Jayme Steinbeck and Assistant Principal Lynn Cardin.  Principal Steinbeck expressed her gratitude to the Arkansas Sheriffs Association and the Saline County Sheriff’s Office.  The school intends to use the grant award to fund their efforts to reduce drug abuse among school children.

Sheriff Wright encourages all residents of Saline County to learn more about the National Red Ribbon Campaign by visiting www.redribbon.org.

Pictured from left to right: Sheriff Wright, Principal Jayme Steinbeck, Assistant Principal Lynn Cardin and School Resource Officer Deputy Chris Griffin.

Image 1
Image 2

Telephone Scam Alert!

Many residents of Saline County have been receiving threatening telephone calls from individuals purporting to be deputies of the Saline County Sheriff’s Office (SCSO).  The callers typically inform the victims that they have warrants for their arrest or owe fines and that they must immediately pay the caller by purchasing a pre-paid debit card, or risk being arrested.

Saline County Sheriff Rodney Wright wishes to emphasize that SCSO deputies will never contact you by telephone to demand payment for any type of fine or to prevent being arrested. 

The SCSO Criminal Investigation Division is actively investigating these calls, but they need your help.  If you receive one of these calls, PLEASE DO NOT GIVE ANY PERSONAL INFORMATION over the telephone.  Immediately contact the SCSO or your local law enforcement agency to report the incident.  The SCSO non-emergency dispatch telephone number is 501-303-5647.

Image 1

Deputies Catch Robbery Suspects in Action

Lisa Layman

Terah Hibbard

On 10/8/18 Saline County Sheriff’s Office (SCSO) deputies were called to the Dollar General store located at 20799 Arch Street Pike, Little Rock, Saline County, AR for a report of a pair of females that were shoplifting.

While responding to the scene, it was learned that the suspects had run over the store manager’s foot in their escape.  This use of force against the manager caused the crime to be a felony, and no longer a simple shoplifting.  The manager was able to give the 911 operators a vehicle description and license plate number for the suspect vehicle.

Minutes later, SCSO Dep. Tre Davis located the vehicle in the area of US HWY 167 and Arch Street Pike and performed a traffic stop.  After the short struggle, Dep. Davis arrested both suspects.  A subsequent search of the female suspects and the vehicle revealed the stolen merchandise and a quantity of illegal drugs.

Criminal Investigation Division detectives responded to the scene to collect evidence and interview the victims and witnesses.  The two female suspects, identified as Ms. Lisa Layman and Ms. Terah Hibbard, both of Sheridan, were booked into the Saline County Jail on charges including Aggravated Robbery, Resisting Arrest, Possession of Controlled Substance and others.

Saline County Sheriff Rodney Wright wishes to express his sincere appreciation to the Grant County Sheriff’s Office for their quick response to assist in the arrest of Ms. Layman and Ms. Hibbard.

Image 1
Image 2
Image 3
Image 4

Sheriff's Office Welcomes New Deputy



The Saline County Sheriff’s Office welcomed a new deputy on Wednesday, October 3rd.  Eduardo Grajeda was sworn into office by Saline County Circuit Judge Robert Herzfeld and will be assigned as a patrol deputy.  Dep. Grajeda comes to the Sheriff’s Office with two years of experience as a police officer.

Image 1
Image 2

Saline County Deputy Honored by Attorney General



Saline County Sheriff’s Office Deputy Jack Campbell was honored Tuesday, October 2nd by Arkansas Attorney General Leslie Rutledge as the 2018 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year.


This award was presented at the annual Attorney General’s Law Enforcement Summit in Benton, in front of law enforcement officers from around the state.  Each year, hundreds of officers are nominated by their communities and the Attorney General honors the top candidates with this award.


Image 1
Image 2

Sheriff's Office Personnel Promoted



Saline County Sheriff Rodney Wright has promoted the following personnel:


    Sergeant Joe Traylor has been promoted to the rank of Lieutenant and has been assigned to command the Training and Support Division.     Corporal Brent Bittle has been promoted to the rank of Sergeant and has been assigned as a patrol shift supervisor.     Deputy Pat Griffin has been promoted to the rank of Corporal and has been assigned as a patrol shift supervisor.

Sheriff Wright along with Chief Deputy Jay Fitzpatrick commend the individuals on their hard work and dedication to the Sheriff’s Office and congratulate them on their well-deserved promotions.


Last week, the Saline County Sheriff’s Office (SCSO) was called to the scene of an unattended death on Nickel Bill James Road off Highway 5.

The deceased has been identified as Hugh Clifford Law, male, 62 years of age.  The last known address for Mr. Law was in Little Rock. 

Although there appears to be no foul play involved, detectives from the SCSO Criminal Investigation Division will continue to investigate the incident.

No further comments will be provided at this time.



This afternoon at approximately 2:00 pm, two citizens were looking at property on Nickel Bill James off Highway 5.  An abandoned moped was located and the Saline County Sheriff’s Office (SCSO) was asked to respond.

Upon arrival the moped was located, and within close proximity a body was discovered.

Detectives from the Criminal Investigation Division (CID) have responded as well as the Coroner.   

This is an active death investigation and no further information will be released at this time.


Image 1

Lake Norrell Investigation

Yesterday evening at 7:50 p.m., a call was dispatched for an unattended death near Lake Norrell.

When Saline County Sheriff's Office (SCSO) deputies arrived, a body was discovered near the boat dock of Lake Norrell.

A crime scene was established; detectives from the Criminal Investigation Division (CID) were notified and responded as well as the Coroner.

The scene was secured just before 11:00 p.m. last night.

This case is currently under investigation and no further comments will be made at this time.

The victim has been identified as Donald Mark Laseter, 62 years of age, from the Lake Norrell community.

Load More